Wellness for women over 40

Fitness and wellness tips for women over 40 based on research and personal stories

What you can do about your bones after Menopause

Leave a comment

This post describes a few tips for maintaining bone health after 50

Yes, take calcium but not more than the recommended amount.  It’s the most important nutrient to increase because calcium intake was the lowest nutrient found in one study of elderly women and men in the Boston nutritional status survey.  This study was published by Evans and Cyra-Campbell in the journal of Nutrition And Health For Older Americans.

Medical professionals recommend 1,500 mg/day for post menopausal women, and 1000 for women taking Estrogen. This is important because hormones disrupt the bone building process.  After the end of the last period and three years after is when the most bone loss occurs.  A great link is betterbones.com

Bones are living tissue and proper nutrition is important.  New research has suggested that nutrition can reverse osteoporosis.  Experts think that excess dieting plays a major role. A diet in low fat is not healthy and leads to bone loss so don’t try and skip the calories that are healthy.

It also has to be the right fats, no hydrogenated fats or refined oils.  Some good fats are olive oil, butter, avocado, cream cheese, coconut oil.  Vitamin K and kale and spinach is good. You need about 6 to 7 tablespoons per day to meet the standard recommendations.

Let’s not forget exercise.  In the above study, they found that strength training can reduce stress fractures in post-menopause women.  Weight bearing exercise may help prevent bone density loss. Of course, there are additional health benefits from a regular exercise program.

You can have healthier bones after 50 with careful diet and exercise– add supplements like Vitamin K and vitamin D.  You can get Vitamin K from fermented foods and dark green leafy vegetables.

 

Author: Debbie L. Belair

Dear friends, I first discovered writing while at Univesity studying Psychology and working on a BA. Taking English and creative writing alongside inspired me to start writing short fiction, including poetry. In addition, I completed a creative writing honors diploma. I still love to write fiction, but I've been told that my strengths lie in writing Non-Fiction. With all my current writing experience someone suggested Freelance copy wrting. The blogging topics I will write about are Health and Wellness for Women and a Writing tips blog for creative and non-fiction​ writers. Hope you enjoy my blogs, I am trying to add new ones bi-monthly. I will be moving all of my posts to this blog very soon, hope you enjoy them. Some of my original posts may not be available until I restructure the site. Please post your comments. I read my comments every couple of days. I look forward to hearing your comments or suggestions.

Leave a Reply

