Wellness for women over 40

Fitness and wellness tips for women over 40 based on research and personal stories

How diet helps protect your skin from the sun

Leave a comment

Damage from the sun can be lessened if you eat a diet high in antioxidants, here’s what you should know.

Ever wonder about all the years of sun tanning and how it ages your skin? Clinical studies reveal that sunscreen isn’t enough.  The foods you eat can help protect your skin.  Here are some of the ingredients that can help fight off damage from UV rays:

Carotenoids

These are pigments found in vegetables and fruit that gives them their color.  Clinical trials have shown that both topical and oral intake of carotenoids reduces damage from the sun’s ultraviolet rays.

Beta carotenoids

It is necessary to have a regular intake (about 10 weeks), to obtain benefits from sunburn.  They can be applied topically, but it’s better to obtain them from your diet.  The carotenoids and beta carotenoids are antioxidants, and most antioxidants work better when ingested in combinations, so variety is the key.

Other nutrients

Vitamins E and C, and omega- 3 fatty acids help decrease photo-aging, as well as providing many other health benefits according to Alive magazine.  See Alive.com. This magazine is in print and you can get it at various health stores.  It provides great information about research and nutrition.

The following foods are high in antioxidants and help provide protection for your skin:

  1. Tomatoes (even tomato paste)
  2. peppers
  3. carrots
  4. greens
  5. most fruit and berries
  6. fish
  7. nuts and seeds

Remember ACE in the summer time.  Vitamins A, C, and E may help reduce damage from the sun, but your intake has to be consistent.  Fish oils are suggested and are a healthy choice any time of year. If you don’t eat or like fish you can always take capsules as a supplement.

 

 

Author: Debbie L. Belair

Dear friends, I first discovered writing while at Univesity studying Psychology and working on a BA. Taking English and creative writing alongside inspired me to start writing short fiction, including poetry. In addition, I completed a creative writing honors diploma. I still love to write fiction, but I've been told that my strengths lie in writing Non-Fiction. With all my current writing experience someone suggested Freelance copy wrting. The blogging topics I will write about are Health and Wellness for Women and a Writing tips blog for creative and non-fiction​ writers. Hope you enjoy my blogs, I am trying to add new ones bi-monthly. I will be moving all of my posts to this blog very soon, hope you enjoy them. Some of my original posts may not be available until I restructure the site. Please post your comments. I read my comments every couple of days. I look forward to hearing your comments or suggestions.

Leave a Reply

