Wellness for women over 40

Fitness and wellness tips for women over 40 based on research and personal stories

3 reasons why you should meditate

Leave a comment

Ever wonder why people meditate, and why it’s not silly?  This post might surprise you.

There has been a lot of new research that shows benefits of meditation on both the mind and body.  It’s an ancient practice that works on transforming the mind.  It helps you relax and gain focus and concentration.  The body and mind are combined to reach a state of complete relaxation.  You need not be religious to meditate.

One of the most important reasons is that the Mayo clinic studies indicate that meditation is capable of slowing down certain disease processes and even helping to prevent them from starting.  People with nervous disorders benefit the most from meditation, especially epilepsy because it improves brain wave stability. Even heart disease can be reduced because meditation helps increase blood flow to arteries and vessels. The recommended minimum time is 30 mins per day.

A cancer patient with a tumor the size of a small apple was able to reduce the size of the tumor to that of a walnut…without medication in a time period of only 3 months.  It must be noted that this patient practiced about 3 hours a day consistently.  This doesn’t mean that you have to practice that long!  Most of us are too busy for that.

Another main reason why people meditate is to enter the body and mind into a deep state of relaxation.  The idea is that the mind and body work together to increase mental energy.  Meditation relieves excessive tension in the muscles and helps improve sleep.

Buddhists believe that you can work with your emotions and completely transform your mind.  Studies show that people with mental illnesses can gain even greater benefits with regular practice.  For more great information see podcast.bsw.org.  Another great source of information is called Audiodharm.com.  I have been listening to audio dharma podcasts for a long time, it’s how I relax before bedtime.

So relaxing the body and sharpening the mind can go a long way to improve the quality of life and reduce stress and fend off chronic illnesses. Meditation takes patience and a little practice, but it’s worth it in the long run.

Author: Debbie L. Belair

Dear friends, I first discovered writing while at Univesity studying Psychology and working on a BA. Taking English and creative writing alongside inspired me to start writing short fiction, including poetry. In addition, I completed a creative writing honors diploma. I still love to write fiction, but I've been told that my strengths lie in writing Non-Fiction. With all my current writing experience someone suggested Freelance copy wrting. The blogging topics I will write about are Health and Wellness for Women and a Writing tips blog for creative and non-fiction​ writers. Hope you enjoy my blogs, I am trying to add new ones bi-monthly. I will be moving all of my posts to this blog very soon, hope you enjoy them. Some of my original posts may not be available until I restructure the site. Please post your comments. I read my comments every couple of days. I look forward to hearing your comments or suggestions.

Leave a Reply

